the european
hotel development


Hospitality Innovation Award 2017

The Hospitality Innovation Award was awarded to Vanessa Borkmannand Wilhelm Bauer from the innovation network “FutureHotel” of Fraunhofer IOA.

The prize, initiated by PKF hotelexperts, was presented to the project manager Vanessa Borkmann, during the hotelforum gala dinner on 6 October 2017. On the same evening, the winner of the Hotel Property Award 2017 was honoured.

Michael Widmann, Managing Partner of PKF hotelexperts: “Germany‘s scientific landscape is unique. At the Fraunhofer Institute, for over ten years, more than 24.000 employees have been conducting user-orientated research across 69 institutions – also regarding the hotel of the future. Numerous pioneering developments – e.g. checking-in with the Smartphone – were adapted for daily use at this institution”.

Vanessa Borkmann from the innovation network “FutureHotel” of Fraunhofer IOA and Michael Widmann, Managing Partner of PKF hotelexperts // Photo: Walter Glück

Relevant key developments and their impacts on the hotel industry are analysed in the “FutureHotel” project as well as the requirements of different guest-types and the potential for the optimisation in hotels. For areas such as hotel rooms, lobby, reception, meeting rooms, etc, new future-oriented solutions are demonstrated and at the same time technological innovations such as economical, ecological and social aspects are considered. In addition, several laboratory environments, such as the showcase "FutureHotel" in Duisburg and the "Urban Living Lab" in Stuttgart, offer the opportunity to combine theoretical research with actual field testing. Concrete results from the research range from a specific hotel room selection to solutions for innovative bath and wellness areas.

The Hospitality Innovation Award has been bestowed by PKF hotelexperts since 2007 in recognition of important achievements that have had a lasting influence on the international hospitality industry – with special emphasis on social and societal commitment. Some of the more recent past recipients of the award included Clemens Foschi (former Managing Director of Caritas Services GmbH for the realization of the Magdas Hotel in Vienna), Ali Koç and Semahat Arsel (Hotel Group Divan), Ursula Schelle-Müller and Dieter Müller (Motel One), Carlo Petrini (Slow Food), Peter-Mario Kubsch (Studiosus) and Helmut Kutin (SOS-Kinderdorf).


newsletter sign up

subscribe to our newsletter to receive hotelforum recent news

* *