The European
Hotel Development


Hospitality Innovation Award 2016

This year, the „Hospitality Innovation Award“ was awarded to Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen, founder of Transparency International. The prize, which is given by PKF hotelexperts Vienna, was presented in the course of the hotelforum gala dinner on 6 October. During the same evening, the winners of the „Hotel Property of the Year Award“ and the “Blue Hotel Award“ were also honored.

In his laudation, Michael Widmann, Managing Partner of PKF hotelexperts Vienna stated: „Corruption impairs economic development. Tourism and especially the hospitality industry are exposed to a dual danger in this context: On the one hand investments that make economic sense are impeded, delayed and made more expensive. On the other hand, funds that are often accumulated by corruption are invested in hotels”.

“Transparency International has managed to increasingly direct the attention of the public to the topic of corruption. The annually published ´Corruption Perceptions Index´ gives an easy to understand insight into the presence of corruption in any one country. For us, it has now become an important benchmark for the assessment of investment projects – in addition to other economic indicators such as GDP and inflation”.

Widmann concluded: „By awarding this accolade to Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen and Transparency International, we wish to make a contribution to further increase the awareness of this index and, in so doing, to help fight corruption internationally”.

The „Hospitality Innovation Award“ has been bestowed by PKF hotelexperts since 2007 in recognition of important achievements that have had a lasting influence on the international hospitality industry – with special emphasis on social and societal commitment. Some of the more recent past recipients of the award included Clemens Foschi (former Managing Director of Caritas Services GmbH for the realization of the Magdas Hotel in Vienna), Ali Koç and Semahat Arsel (Hotel Group Divan), Ursula Schelle-Müller and Dieter Müller (Motel One), Carlo Petrini (Slow Food), Peter-Mario Kubsch (Studiosus) and Helmut Kutin (SOS-Kinderdorf). 

contact us

For more information please send us a request

* *