The European
Hotel Development


12 nominees for "Hotel Property Award 2018"

The nominated hotels have been chosen for the “Hotel Property Award 2018”, which will be presented on Wednesday, 10 October as part of hotelforum. The 17-member expert jury selected its 12 favourite hotels from among the 52 applicants in 13 European countries when it met at the Bretterbude Heiligenhafen on the Baltic Sea, which was the winning hotel in 2017. This time there are five hotels from Germany and seven from the five countries Italy (3 hotels), the Netherlands (1), Norway (1), Switzerland (1) and Spain (1).

Andreas Martin, Chairman of the hotelforum jury: “Once more this year, the creative variety and international diversity of the 52 excellent applications left the interdisciplinary jury with the challenge of highlighting 12 special hotel concepts. It is interesting to note that only five of the nominated hotels are newly built. The intelligent conversion or refurbishment of existing properties is therefore increasingly coming into the spotlight of sustainable hotel developments.”

The jury was made up of experts from the fields of architecture, consulting, design, finance, operation, property development, technology and science. Jury member and architect Oliver Collignon: “We are looking for hotels that open up trend-setting perspectives in an age of individualisation and social upheaval. Strong aesthetic worlds should inspire us by means of their specialness and through their coherent qualities. The interior and the exterior should form a common identity within this whole.”

hotelforum considers interaction between the following categories to be decisive in selecting the nominees

  • architectural design quality
  • integration into the project’s surroundings
  • sustainability and technical innovation
  • the originality of the concept
  • economic efficiency

Jury member Torsten Kuttig, Director of Development at ECE, added: “A hotel is much more today than only a place where you can get a good night’s sleep and then have breakfast. Today, the quality of a hotel property is characterised in particular by the way in which it, firstly, inspires guests with its architecture, interior design and operating concept, and secondly becomes a driving force for the location and the urban environment.”

The nominees in alphabetical order:

25hours Hotel The Royal Bavarian
Location: Munich, Germany
Operator: 25hours Hotel Company MunichGmbH
Architect: OSA Ochs Schmidhuber Architekten, Munich
Interior architect: DREIMETA, Augsburg


Alles Paletti - Karls Upcycling Hotel
Location: Rövershagen, Germany
Operator: Karls Tourismus GmbH
Architect: Robert Dahl
Interior architect: Robert Dahl


Aquatio Cave Luxury Hotel & SPA
Location: Matera, Italy
Operator: Greenblu
Architect: Architect Cosimo dell’Acqua and Architect Simone Micheli
Interior architect: Architect Simone Micheli


Bikini Island & Mountain Hotel Port de Sóller
Location: Port de Soller, Spain
Operator: Bikini Island Port Soller S.L.
Architect: ICAZAR.architects (Luis Moranta), Dreimeta GmbH & Co. KG
Interior architect: Dreimeta GmbH & Co. KG


Hotel Norge By Scandic
Location: Bergen, Norway
Operator: Scandic Hotels
Architect: Grieg Arkitekter
Interior architect: Concrete


QO Amsterdam
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Operator: IHG
Architect: Paul de Ruiter and Muldeblauw architecten
Interior architect: TANK, public area’s and Conran and Partner, hotel rooms


Revier Mountain Lodge
Location: Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Operator: REVIER Hospitality Group AG
Architect: Carlos Martinez Architekten, Berneck (CH)
Interior architect: Carlos Martinez Architekten & Gastroforce


Ruby Coco Hotel & Bar
Location: Dusseldorf, Germany
Operator: Ruby Hotels & Resorts GmbH
Architect: Walter Brune
Interior architect: Michael Struck, Manuela Kohl und Matthew Balon


Location: Milan, Italy
Operator: Blu Hotels
Architect: Aldo Cibic workshop
Interior architect: Aldo Cibic


The Fontenay
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Operator: The Fontenay Hotelgesellschaft GmbH
Architect: Jan Störmer - Störmer, Murphy and Partners
Interior architect: Aukett & Heese, Christian Meinert


The Student Hotel Florence Lavagnini

Location: Florence, Italy
Operator: The Student Hotel & OOO (Restaurants)
Architect: Archea & TSH Design Experience Team
Interior architect: TSH Design Experience Team with Rizoma Architetture and Qbic


Location: Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Operator: Familie Erhardt
Architect: W2 Manufaktur Leogang
Interior architect: W2 Manufaktur Leogang

The winner of the "Hotel Property of the Year 2018" will be announced at a gala evening on 10 October at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof in Munich.

Previous winners of the “Hotel Property Award”:

Bretterbude Heiligenhafen (2017), Reichshof Hamburg CURIO Collection by Hilton (2016), Hotel Zoo Berlin (2015), Holzhotel Forsthofalm Leogang, Salzburger Land (2014), Radisson Blu Hotel Nantes (2013), Hotel TOPAZZ Vienna (2012), 25hours HafenCity Hamburg (2011), Roomers Frankfurt (2010), Lindner Park-Hotel Hagenbeck (2009), 25hours Frankfurt (2008), Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa & Cultural Hideaway (2007), Hotel Daniel Graz (2006), Colosseo Erlebnishotel Rust (2004), Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo Brussels and Accor Suite Hotel Hamburg (2003), Hilton Cologne (2002).

contact us

For more information please send us a request

* *